Reflections from the Terrace

Ever since my return from Spain two weeks ago, I have been trying to let everything settle in. I have been trying to put into words what the experience meant to me. I finally decided that my journal entry from my last day in Sevilla said it better than anything I could pen today. That is proven especially true by the fact that, even now, I cry as I sit here and re-write it for this blog post…

“Saturday, October 1, 2016

This is my last day in Sevilla. Every morning I wake up here, I still can’t believe I’m in Spain. I am breathing in all of Sevilla I can. On my terrace, I reflect on the past week. The morning has just begun, birds are chirping, and the sun is starting to bathe the bougainvillea and jasmine-draped wall. I gaze upon all of it, hear all of it, smell all of it, feel the warmth from all of it, and commit it to memory. I can’t help but cry as I attempt to process this trip. It wasn’t just a vacation- it was a life changing experience. It wasn’t just an adventure- it was a giant leap across an ocean into blissful calmness and comfort. It wasn’t just an avenue to learn and see flamenco- it was a culmination of moments so fabulous and ones that filled the abyss of my soul. I do not want to leave. I end every day saying, ‘I love this day,’ but it keeps getting better and better. I feel, very profoundly, that I am a different dancer now. This trip allowed me to really ‘feel’ flamenco. I feel different as a person too… renewed and awake. This trip has changed me.

Everyone is sleeping in today, with no classes to get up for. I cannot. Spain is at my doorstep…”

20161015_235036

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reflections from the Terrace

  1. Couple of years back when I wasn’t that travel savvy I missed out on a opportunity to visit Seville. I feel like kicking myself now. I would love to go back to Spain and spend some time in Seville alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

